Motor Vehicles

Vehicle owners must renew their registration and pay the ad valorem tax, if applicable, every year during the 30-day period prior to their birthday. If the vehicle is owned by more than one person, then the birthday of the person whose name appears first on the title is used to determine the registration period. Newly acquired vehicles must be registered within 30 days from the date of purchase.

When purchasing or transferring a vehicle, you should immediately apply for your title and obtain or transfer a Georgia license plate at the Peach County Tax Commissioner's office. When moving to Georgia, you have 30 days from the date you move to apply for or transfer title and registration.

If your address has changed, you should have your address corrected on your Georgia driver’s license or ID card with the Georgia Department of Driver Services, then have your address changed at our office. 


Any vehicle purchased on, or after, March 1, 2013, is subject to a one-time title tax (TAVT) based on the value of the vehicle set by the Georgia Department of Revenue. This TAVT replaces the annual ad valorem tax and the sales and use tax on most vehicles titled in Georgia. This TAVT is paid at the time a title is transferred from one owner to another. New residents are only required to pay 50% of what is due at the initial title/registration. The remaining 50% must be paid within 12 months (Except lease vehicles must pay 100% of what is due).                       

Vehicles older than 1986 are not required to be titled in Georgia. Also, trailers with a gross shipping weight of 2000 pounds or less, are not required to be titled in Georgia. A Bill of Sale from the previous owner (seller) to the new owner (purchaser) is required. If the seller is different from the last owner recognized by the State of Georgia, a form T-22B Inspection Form completed by a Law Enforcement Officer is required.

New residents to Georgia must have the following documents in order to title and register a vehicle:

Titling a Vehicle With No Lien

  • Out of State Title
  • Current Registration from Previous State
  • Proof of Georgia Insurance
  • Georgia Drivers License with Peach County Address (NO P.O. BOX)
  • Current Mileage (not required if vehicle is 10 years old or older)

Titling a Vehicle With Lien

  • T-17 Affidavit of Lien Holder (available at tag office)
  • Current Registration from Previous State
  • Proof of Georgia Insurance
  • Georgia Drivers License with Peach County Address (NO P.O. BOX)
  • Current Mileage (not required if vehicle is 10 years old or older)


  • Tag Fee for passenger vehicles and trucks weighing up to 14,000 lbs, loaded: $20.00*
  • Title Transfer Fee: $18.00
  • Trailer Tag Fee: $12.00
  • Replacement Tag, Decal, or Title: $8.00

*Trucks with a gross vehicle weight over 14,000 (Truck and load) fees are based on the weight. A Schedule of Motor Vehicle License Plates and Fees can be found at the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicle website listed below.

Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fee is added to any vehicle fueled solely by electricity, natural gas, propane, bi-fuel, or dual fuel including hybrid-electric vehicles. Any vehicle classified as an Alternative Fuel Vehicle will annually be assessed:

  • Non-Commercial Vehicle: $213.69
  • Commercial Vehicle: $320.54

Highway Impact Fee is annually assessed on all vehicles in the following weight classes:

  • Vehicles weighing 15,500 to 26,000 pounds: $50.00
  • Vehicles weighing 26,001 pounds & over.: $100.00


Ad valorem taxes on motor vehicles are due on the primary owner’s birth date. Vehicles owned by a business are due based on the first letter of the Business name. The tax is based on the 40% value of the vehicle. Taxes are due on a vehicle, even when the vehicle is not in use; however, if the registration has been cancelled, the Tag Fee does not have to be paid until the vehicle is registered again.

Vehicle Tag Renewals

Vehicle Tag Renewals can be processed by mail by completing the renewal form received in the mail and returning it to the Tax Commissioners Office; bringing this form to the office, or on-line. Renewals must be made on or before the birth date of the primary owner, when owned by an individual, or the last day of the month for a business.

The penalty for late registration is 10% of the tax and 25% of the tag fee. These penalties begin immediately following the due date.


According to Georgia Law, any vehicle operating in Georgia MUST be insured. If for any reason insurance is cancelled on a vehicle, the Tax Commissioner's office must be notified so that the registration is cancelled. This will keep any insurance lapse fee or suspension from being placed on the vehicle.

We accept check, cash, money order, or the following debit/credit cards: Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express. There is a small fee for using a debit/credit card.

You can contact the tag office at 478- 825-3161; the fax number is 478-827-1312. The office is located in the Peach County Courthouse, 205 West Church Street, Suite 103, Fort Valley, Georgia 31030. Office hours are Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.

We have a branch office in Byron on Tuesdays and Thursdays. It is located in the Byron Municipal Complex and is open from 8:30 a.m. until Noon and 1:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m. The phone number is 478-654-6521; fax is 478-654-6510.

For further information regarding vehicle registration please visit the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicle Website